whathappensinlondon

My Dog Ate Your Train

In Day to Day on June 23, 2011 at 9:50 pm

NORTHERN LINE

This isn’t so much as a place to go in London, more of a general problem that surrounds getting anywhere that you want to go. I know that moaning about travel has been done to death and that we are plagued morning (thankyou Metro) and evening (over to you, Evening Standard) by various updates and comments on the horrific situation we now face. One of my favourite pieces has to be that on average 30% of us take longer journeys simply because of a misleading and outdated tube map that was designed well over eighty years ago.

My gripe isn’t the congested conditions, expensive fares or even the long waits…it is the numerous excuses we are provided by TfL in lieu of their failings. If I repeatedly did a bad job or turned up late to work, I am quite sure that my employers would not accept variations on a couple of standard excuses for my behaviour – ‘Hi, I know I was late yesterday, and that I didn’t do any work at all the day before, but you see the thing is that on the first day my alarm clock didn’t go off, and on the second day my alarm clock didn’t go off and today my alarm clock broke’. Yet, we are forced to accept that ‘leaves are on the line’, ‘signal failure’, ‘overcrowding’ and even ‘undercrowding’ (ok, I made the last one up) are problems that have remained unsolvable for over a decade.

Moan over, this weekend will be a busy one for What Happens in London. Friday night will start with drinks in Oval and end in Clapham (I really really hope that this time, it will not end in Infernos). Saturday night promises to be a good’un as I meet up with friends I have seen in months for a jolly in Stoke Newington – am thinking about the Moustache Bar after rave reviews from a colleague, or even the TOWIE night at Proud2 in the O2…but either way they’ll be plenty of writing material for the next week!

Leave a Reply

